top of page
Featured Posts

Mercury in Retrograde


Mercury is in retrograde from September 17 until October 9th. I had heard of an upcoming Mercury Retrograde and learned today it had just started. Well that explains my symptoms these past few days. You may be wondering, what is Mercury Retrograde? Three times a year, the planet Mercury moves backwards for three weeks. Mercury rules communication, contracts, travel and automobiles. The Old Farmer’s Almanac advises to remain flexible during this time; allow extra time for travel and signing contracts. It is wise to review possibilities in your life, any projects or ideas you may have, but it is best to wait until after Mercury Retrograde to make any final decisions.

This is all directly applicable to me. Having recently removed myself from the dietetic internship program, I find myself as a needle in a haystack. A rock in a hard place? I have so many ideas at this time, ideas I am semi- to very passionate about. I am 100 percent confident in moving forward with my YouTube channel, for example. However, I have other ideas as well and the time to pursue other ventures. I am curious in the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, for example. I would graduate a health coach with a start on my own business. The school provides to me my own website as well as marketing materials, etc. It is possible to start making an income about half way through the program. Mostly, I love that the curriculum has a focus on spirituality, and its eating theories are more closely aligned with mine than the dietetic internship. But my inner voice has guided me to not make any decisions right now, and this so aligns with Mercury Retrograde.

I guess I should make it clear what I do believe about food. I believe in mindful eating, intuitive eating. I believe in shutting off the inner, ego-driven voice and listening to your body and its needs. Your body will call out and make quite clear what it is craving. It is for you to dissociate your body’s voice from your ego’s voice. Your ego is what lets your drink diet soda each day. It is nothing against diet soda, and I believe in free will and that we can eat and drink whatever makes us happy. On the contrary, I also know, spiritually, that our bodies do not ever want diet soda. It is completely void of nutrients, and the phosphoric acid rots our teeth. The fake sugars that make the soda calorie free also wreak havoc on the brain. Keep in mind, however, that if we keep ourselves at a high vibration, diet soda really stands no shot at creating illness in our bodies. It will only be compatible with people whose vibrations are at a lower level.

Why, then, is diet soda so popular? Well, many reasons, but mostly that we have been conditioned by our environment to drink and purchase diet soda. If we failed to acknowledge the existence of diet soda, it would cease to exist.

I intend to write multiple pieces on these and related issues. Intuitive eating is a philosophy of which I am passionate about, and I have many thoughts to disperse into the universe. On the most basic level, intuitive eating is just being mindful of the voice of your body, which will align with the voice of your Higher Self. If you are unsure, talk to your (Higher) self and your body. The cells of your body hold consciousness, and together they make up the collective consciousness of your body as a whole. You can even work to heal yourself by talking to the cells of your body. You will be amazed what such a small act can do.

Each body is different on a physical, molecular, cellular, emotional and spiritual level. If everyone were in true natural alignment with their Higher Selves and listening to the voices of their bodies, no two diets would really be the same. My body may be more sensitive to raw oranges, while you may wake up to a glass of orange juice. All our protein requirements will vary. We may depend on a few specific food items for most of our nutrients. We may even eat a certain item all the time and then stop eating it. Our diets will change depending on our vibration and what our bodies can handle. Every food has its own innate vibration which will influence and interact with our vibration. Foods can have a lowering or raising effect on our own vibration. Everybody is unique and his or her own individual. Listen to your soul and your heart. Let go and let be. Enjoy your life and enjoy your food. Ingest each and every bite with a smile of appreciation. We are all alchemists by design. Food is just another vehicle we can use to raise our vibration, or we can focus our energy on it to raise its vibration.

But for this piece, I want to focus on Mercury in retrograde. In addition to what I said earlier, think of Mercury Retrograde as another shedding of the ego. Think of a snake shedding its skin. It’s a natural process. By the way, this all aligns with the energies of Wave X. Dr. Simon Atkins is quite public about his stock market predictions and predictions of political and social chaos within the next two months. In relation to this current Mercury Retrograde, Astrologer Larry Schwimmer predicts political upheaval and a stock market slide.

On a spiritual level, suppressed issues of your subconscious may begin to boil and surface. As I have often said, the universe is a mirror. During this time, that means that your suppressed ideas or belief systems may surface and manifest in your daily lives through your experiences with other people or in general.

For me, this energy feels like a swarm of bees hovering towards me. I have physical side effects as well. I feel week, fatigued and vulnerable. My entire body is extremely sore, and I have persistent flashes of feeling hot and cold. I will feel overheated one minute and shivering the next. You may also experience vertigo, feelings of being out of body or overall confusion. I advise you to once again listen to your body and its needs. Be easy on yourself these next three weeks. Take it easy. Don’t make any sharp or rash decisions.

We may feel an overall loss of control during this time. If in fact you feel you are experiencing bad luck or a frustration with how your life is going, you are in resistance to having control. Teal Swan says to imagine yourself in the back seat of the car and let life just take you. Get in the river and let the current take you down the stream.

Let go and let be. We have all so much to be proud of and to have gratitude for. In these trying times, deal with your surfacing issues as they come. Do not resist them, and allow yourself to resolve them. Never forget, now and always, to have gratitude. Be thankful for the journey and thankful for your present space. There is beauty within every moment. Mercury Retrograde is just another hiccup from God. We can do this.

Love always,

Samantha

Links:

Recent Posts
Follow me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
bottom of page