top of page
Featured Posts

For the love of books and records


I believe as human beings in a modern society we all have a tendency to crave physical objects in one way or the other. For some girls who are interested in personal style and fashion, this longing may manifest in the way of shoes, purses, or clothes, as we often hear about in standard society and pop culture. I do enjoy these things, and at one time, I had quite a shopping addiction that I have since transmuted. I believe in my personal style, but my personal style also happens to be quite low key at the moment. I love hippie, witchy type clothing. I am beginning a love affair with the color black, and my outfit of choice is long black leggings and an oversized tea with a “witchy” design such as an astrological chart or picture of the moon. Our clothing and the way we present ourselves physically is such an integral and magical part of our persona, and it can be so fun and amazing to play around with.

I find myself to have an equal or more love affair with VINYLS and BOOKS! I am such a book nerd. In my second home, my family home and home of all so many beautiful memories, we had a large beautiful library straight from the film Beauty and the Beast. The wall was sky high filled with shelves that contained my mother’s extensive library of books. When my parents were building the home, they could have made it a third car garage, but my mom fulfilled a dream: she created a personal library. And within this beautiful room, I had about four or five large shelves to myself. They were towards the end of the room. I remember as I kid, I would sit on the floor, organizing and going through my books. How therapeutic and beautiful that was, as I think back. My mom instilled in me a natural and pure love of books. Books are power. Books are knowledge. Books are portals to other dimensions. They are pure and true. I gravitate towards books of my resonance, and that’s just New Age lingo for what I like! Lately, I’ve been gravitating towards spiritual and religious type books with a mystic twist. I am SO excited to start reading “The Holy Trinity and the Law of Three: Discovering the Radical Truth at the Heart of Christianity” by Cynthia Bourgeault. I am also halfway through “Kabbalah: Key to Your Inner Power” By Elizabeth Clare Prophet. You see, I like to learn about many things, and religion and spirituality is up high and strong on the list of things I want to learn about. I like finding truths, rediscovering truths, and learning about myself through the process. I also love fiction, as well, as they allow me to escape into a new world. I can exist in the story of the novel.

And of course, there is vinyl. This is a newer love affair. I have always loved music, and music has forever been an integral part of my life. Where my mom is the yin, the Divine Feminine, and more passive perspective, she instilled into me the love of books. And then there’s my dad, the yang, and the Divine Masculine. He instilled into me this great love of music. I started playing piano in second grade. Sister Ruth, this seemingly three foot tall, forever 90 year nun with crooked little fingers was my teacher. I met with her once a week after school. I went to a Catholic school from second grade until my first year of college and played piano until eighth grade when I graduated Reverend Brown. I went into high school, and for seemingly no reason, did not continue my piano lessons. This evening, I found myself looking up musical notes and music theory, as I was trying to figure out the name of a connected two quarter note for an Instagram-related reason. As I was scrolling through some pages, I realized that I used to know all of this quite easily and readily but that this knowledge has faded and is not at the forefront of my brain. But then I realized something. If I were to take up piano again, I KNOW I could easily get back to my piano playing days. I was listening to my favorite podcast this afternoon: Hippie Witch by Joanna Devoe. I cannot say enough good things about Joanna. She was interviewing a friend, who is a 40 year old single mom with a full time job. She grew up a dancer and had great, professional training when she was younger. However, she had stopped dancing for years. After her life had seemingly been turned upside down (a divorce, etc.), she found herself in a dancing studio signing her daughter up for ballet. The lady who was helping her asked if she had danced before. She replied yes. Alas, the woman eventually talked her into signing up for the adult ballet class, and now she LOVES it! It was such an inspiring story that I cannot do justice in this blog. However, Joanna and her friend came to the point that it is so powerful and wonderful to simply do what you love! Joanne suggested we look back at things we did as a kid for pure fun. Why not start them up again? As I listened, I did not think of my piano lessons. However, as I scrolled through music theory on Google pictures, something came over me that made me want to shout to the world that I want to start piano again! I’ll keep you updated. I was also a choir girl growing up. I sang in the youth choir at Sunday mass, and I was the cantor that led at the front of the church. I continued to sing through high school. On a lesser note, I played clarinet in middle school as well. I have also always had a pure love of music and whatever I’m into at the time. Within the past year or so, I have discovered vinyl records, and I cannot get enough. I love my record players and my record collection as much as I love my library of books.

So I guess I am just thankful. I am thankful for the existence of books, music, vinyl records, instruments, and the millions upon millions of people behind them. Thank you for your knowledge, and thank you for your experiences. Your word, perspective, and talents have been passed down for those who want to see. Because of this, my own life is enriched.

XOXO,

Samantha


Recent Posts
Follow me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
bottom of page