top of page
Featured Posts

Everybody Dies


I woke up this morning with an inkling to check the news. I clicked to yahoo.com on my iPhone and scrolled a few stories over. To my not so surprise, Yogi Berra, the legendary Yankees’ catcher, had passed away last night. I had intuitively sensed this for a while, now. After all, he was 90 years old. When I was at Yankee Stadium a few weeks ago for Andy Pettitte Day, a tribute to my all-time favorite player, my dad even mentioned that when Yogi passes, it will fall on Reggie Jackson to be the legendary face of the franchise. Each time a generation dies, the duty falls onto the next generational legend. In this case, that’s Reggie Jackson. At some point, that figure will be Derek Jeter and the Core Four: Mariano Rivera, Andy Pettitte and Jorge Posada. This core of individuals won a remarkable five championships together in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000 and again in 2009. What a run! They are all most definitely soulmates.

I could talk on end about each individual’s personal achievements. I mean, you have possibly the greatest shortstop ever with Derek Jeter along with the greatest closer ever in Mariano Rivera. Andy Pettitte was a formidable and perhaps even a borderline Hall of Famer, but he is reputable for his performance in the postseason. Pettitte holds the record for postseason victories with 19. In 2001, he was named MVP of the ALCS, before they sadly went onto lose the World Series to the Arizona Diamondbacks. Oh well, my cousins and family out there got a victory.

You know, I have never been a huge Jorge Posada fan, but the Yankees needed a stable catcher during this time. Behind every Pettitte and Mariano pitch was Jorge to catch the ball. He cannot be understated for that reason alone. He also had a formidable bat and was a leader in his own right.

You may be wondering where all this baseball talk came from. Well, I grew up a passionate Yankees fan, and I attended two years of sports broadcasting camp at the Yogi Berra Museum, where I met the now deceased Yogi Berra as a young high school girl. I even majored in my freshman year of college in broadcasting with the intent on being the next Kim Jones, the Yankees’ on field reporter at the time.

Apples turn to oranges and oranges turn to peaches, and look where I am now. I changed my major four times in college, and I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do with my life. However, I am finding it important to focus on the happiness within. I am looking at this next big decision as a route to happiness, but happiness, in order to be authentic, must come from within.

Pope Francis arrived at the White House this morning, and my politically nosy self had to watch. Obama spoke and then Pope Francis. As I sat and watched, my body felt tense, as if I was expecting something to happen.

As I was waiting for the Pope to come around in his Pope mobile, my mind drifted to the concept of lying. “Everybody lies” kept replaying in my head, which is a quote from one of my favorite TV characters of all time, Dr. Gregory House, from the show House. Was House right? Instantly, I thought, as long as someone is able to lie to themselves, they will lie to others. We constantly are rejecting parts of ourselves that we deem to be unacceptable. We must first be able to tell the truth to ourselves before we can reveal a truth to another.

We have the power to surrender to the truth. The energies I feel recently are forcing me to do so. We become so focused on what parts of ourselves we can change. We think of all that is wrong with us. If only I could find a job. If only I could lose ten pounds. If only I could quit drinking. If only this or that, and I’d be happy. These become mantras that we replay over and over in our head. We resist what is for something outside of ourselves, but in turn, we end up focusing back on this issue and keep ourselves at a limited vibration. Instead, surrender to the feeling. Bathe in whatever emotions come to surface. Stop trying to push your perceived negative feelings or thoughts outside of you. Instead, embrace them. Become comfortable in their presence. Only then do these feelings lose their power over you. As I say this to you, I say this to myself.

We are all powerful creator beings. Meditate on that.

Love and blessings,

Samantha

Links I Like

Recent Posts
Follow me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
bottom of page